California Truck Laws

There are a multitude of laws in California that restrict or dictate minimum compliance levels with just about everything under the sun related to the trucking industry and commercial truck insurance—and in California, the sun is out a lot. It’s really difficult to comply with state laws and avoid citations unless you actually know the laws, so here are some helpful links to the most relevant California truck laws so you can be sure you’re in full compliance before your delivery or trip instead of finding out from an officer of the law at a California weigh station.

California Department of Transportation Truck Laws Page
Helpful information regarding commercial truck operations. This particular page lists California code on things like length and weight restrictions, truck routes, weigh stations and enforcement facilities and how to obtain permits for exceptions such as overweight trucks.

California Environmental Protection Agency’s Air Resources Board
This site contains information new to 2010 regarding emissions standards for large commercial vehicles. This particular page has information on the new heavy-duty vehicle idling emission reduction program and can help you make sure you’re truck is in compliance with stringent environmental standards in California.

California Department of Motor Vehicles Proof of Financial Responsibility for Commercial Trucks Page
This helpful page from the California DMV lists the minimum amounts of commercial truck insurance coverage that drivers need in California by law. This helpful page breaks down the details of the minimum required commercial truck insurance in California from trucks hauling general freight to hazardous materials.


Read the latest postings from Royalty Truck Blog

State Coverage

Offering Trucking Insurance Services in the Following States:
  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • North Carolina
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • New Mexico
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington